My N.H.S. continued.


Having read my last post this morning ,I realize that I have not given enough credit to my local N.H.S. teaching hospital . Until retirement, I had always been a farmer working outdoors in all weathers including sunshine. In my early days we did not know the harm that strong sunshine could do.  As a result of this I have been a regular patient of the Dermatology Department, having had more than 30 minor operations to remove “Rodent Ulcers” caused by sunlight. This is a wonderfully efficient department, appointments are always on time and the staff are kind and caring.

Five or six weeks ago I was having a little “moan” to my doctor about “old age” telling her that I could no longer hear all the dialogue in my favourite T.V. ‘crime thrillers”, some I could hear every word while others were very indistinct.  After a quick visit to the Ear, Nose and Throat department I have now been fitted with a small hearing aid and I can now follow all the clues in my gory dramas with no cost to me!!!

I know that there are many problems in the N.H.S. but I also know that most  of us are very well looked after, it seems to me that it is fashionable to knock everything, even those things  that work well. I can only speak as I find,  I have nothing but good to say about my N.H.S. in this corner of the U.K.

Two weeks later

I have now had two more visits to my local hospital where I have been extremely well treated, appointments held on time, more importantly to me is that all procedures explained in straightforward “laymans”terms.  As one gets older unfortunately our bodies start to wear out, but both our G.P.s and the N.H.S. do their best to keep us going with a good quality of life for as long as possible.   I came away from all my appointments feeling good and optimistic having had the best of advice on how to carry on living ‘life” to the full,to the best of my “aged” ability.

Leave a comment